Moymoy: A Magical Reading Adventure in Filipino

21752943_10155088978547956_18834984005120383_oAswang, Tibaro, Gabun . . .  we are introduced to a new world of Filipino magical creatures, some old familiar ones as well as new creatures, in Lampara Book’s Moymoy Lulumboy series written by award-winning author Segundo Matias Jr.

SAM_6219Last September 17, 2017 during the 38th Manila International Book Fair (MIBF)  at SMX Convention Center, Mall of Asia (MOA) Complex, Lampara Books launched the latest installment of the bestselling Moymoy Lulumboy series: Moymoy Lulumboy Book 4: Mga Dulot ng Digmaan.

SAM_6225The magical world of Gabun is rattled once again as Moymoy Lulumboy faces false accusation where he has to proved his innocence before the curse can be reversed.  But before you can actually follow the story, you must begin reading Books 1 to 3.  Below is a recap . . .

21551678_10155088844037956_5778504500216066635_oThe story of Moymoy begins in Moymoy Lulumboy Book 1: Ang Batang Aswang, which introduces Moymoy Lulumboy as a boy who is raised by humans but is actually a tibaro, a magical creature. He discovers the truth about his parentage and the reason why he is brought to the human world. In Moymoy Lulumboy Book 2 : Ang Nawawalang Birtud, we are introduced into Moymoy’s birthplace, the magical world of Gabun and the evil Buhawan whom he must fight with his twin brother Alangkaw in order to protect Gabun. The brothers’ adventure continues ni Moymoy Lulumboy Book 3: Ang Paghahanap Kay Inay where they embark on a mission to save their mother, Diyosang Liliw and find Gabun’s lost gold.

SAM_6222Book 4 immediately picks up where book 3 left off – the brothers’ search for the gold stolen by the evil Buhawan. It is said that upon the gold’s return to its rightful place, the curse of the Tibaros will be reversed. But just when they thought they finally recovered and returned the gold, it is discovered that the gold is not complete. Moymoy is accused of stealing a missing piece.   Can Moymoy prove his innocence and free Gabun from the curse?

SAM_6217Children are used to reading English book series, such as Nancy Drew in the past, Harry Potter and the like in the present, that their native Filipino language has been ignored and thus their reading and comprehension skills may have deteriorated  in the process.  Author Segundo Matias brings back the enjoyment of reading in Tagalog indirectly re-educating our children into appreciating our very own language.  So those who have trouble teaching their children how to speak and understand Tagalog, this book may be of some help as it will be a fun way to learn Tagalog better.

21741208_10155088788957956_7561192061614319991_oABOUT THE AUTHOR

The Moymoy Lulumboy Series is written by three-time Palanca Awardee, award-winning author, and teleplay and screenplay writer Segundo Matias, Jr., who is also known by his storyteller persona “Kuya Jun.” He has written and published numerous stories for children and young adults, including the titles Makabagong Alamat, Mga Kwentong Nanay, and Mga Kwentong Dapat Mong Malaman. He is a three-time Don Palanca Memorial Awards winner for his teleplay Loida: Taxi Driver (First Honorable Mention, 1991), Alamat ng Duhat (First Prize, 211) and for his essay #PaperDolls (Third Place, Sanaysay Category, 2016). His story Ang Papag ni Tatang also earned an honorable mention citation from the PBBY-Salanga Prize in 2012.

At present, Matias is a student of MA in Creative Writing in Filipino at the University of the Philippines–Diliman. He is currently writing his masteral thesis “Batang Pusit,” a young adult book based on his research on HIV.

The Author and Illustrator with celebrity friends Dang Cecilio (L) and Chanda Romero (M)


Jomike Tejido is an architect by profession. He practiced architecture for some years before deciding that his true passion lies in writing and illustrating children’s books. Tejido has illustrated over 100 books since he started in 2000, some of which he also wrote. This includes the Jepoy Dyip book series and the Claysaurus book series. A distinct characteristic of his stories is the presence of that fun factor which sparks curiosity, discovery, and playfulness while developing the love for reading. Tejido is also a painter who specializes in using banig as a canvas.

MOYMOY LULUMBOY BOOK 4: MGA DULOT NG DIGMAAN is available at all Precious Pages and National Bookstore outlets nationwide. Online purchase is also available at


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s